CDSP Plans A Lively Presence at General Convention

Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows

A reception for the first black woman to be elected a diocesan bishop in the Episcopal Church, the announcement of a scholarship in her honor, the premiere of two new videos and a lively booth in the Exhibit Hall will highlight CDSP’s participation in the 79th General Convention of the Episcopal Church to be held in Austin, Texas, July 5-13.

The reception honoring Bishop Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows of Indianapolis ’97, will be held on Sunday, July 8, 7-9 p.m., in Crail Hall at St. David’s Episcopal Church at 301 East Eight Street, less than half a mile from the Austin Convention Center.

Baskerville-Burrows was CDSP’s director of alumni/ae and church relations from 2002-2004 before serving in the Dioceses of Central New York and Chicago. She had previously served in the Diocese of Newark. The scholarship that bears her name will benefit black and Native American students.

The Rev. Andrew Hybl CAS ’12, CDSP’s dean of students and a group of staff and student volunteers will be on hand to greet visitors at the seminary’s booth in General Convention’s vast Exhibit Hall. Drop by Booth 911 to say hello, watch new videos about CDSP and learn more about the only Episcopal seminary on the West Coast.

The Very Rev. W. Mark Richardson, CDSP’s president and dean, will attend convention to meet with Episcopal Church leaders and offer testimony on legislative resolutions that address theological education and the role of seminaries.

The Rev. Dr. Ruth Meyers, an alternate deputy from the Diocese of California, is serving as vice chair of the Special Committee on Sexual Harassment and Exploitation, created in February by the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings, president of the House of Deputies. Since 2015, Meyers has served on the Task Force on the Study of Marriage, a group appointed by the presiding officers. It has proposed several resolutions to the convention.

During the triennium, the Rev. Dr. Susanna Singer served as chair of the Task Force on Clergy Leadership in Small Congregations, which has proposed several resolutions that will be considered at the convention.