Giving Opportunities

CDSP is registered nonprofit, eligible for tax-deductible donations as allowed by law (tax ID number 94-1156508).

To donate to any of these funds by mail, please make your check payable to Church Divinity School of the Pacific, put a shortened version of the fund name in the memo line (“Bishop Jennifer Scholarship,” “Jenkins Chair,” etc.), and mail to 2450 Le Conte Ave Berkeley, CA 94709-1249. Otherwise use the donate links below.

Bishop Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows Endowed Scholarship Fund for Black and Native American Students

Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows

The Bishop Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows scholarship is awarded to one or more Black and/or Native American students at CDSP.

Bishop Baskerville-Burrows (MDiv ’97) of the Diocese of Indianapolis is the first Black woman to be elected diocesan bishop in the Episcopal Church. She was CDSP’s director of alumni/ae and church relations from 2002-2004 before serving in the Dioceses of Central New York and Chicago. She had previously served in the Diocese of Newark.

CDSP announced the creation of a scholarship in her name during a gala reception at the 2018 General Convention in Austin, Texas. Presiding Bishop Michael Curry and the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings, president of the House of Deputies, attended the reception and made lead gifts.

Winifred B. Gaines Endowed Scholarship Fund

The Winifred B. Gaines Scholarship is awarded to one or more women students at CDSP from the Diocese of Northern California.

The Rev. Canon Winnie Gaines graduated from CDSP in 1978 and became the first woman to be ordained to the priesthood in Northern California. Her husband, Bob Gaines, established the Winifred B. Gaines Scholarship Endowment with a $100,000 gift to support seminarians from that diocese.

Bob Gaines’ gift is a challenge grant, and supporters, alumni and friends are encouraged to help meet the challenge with a gift of any size.

The Rev. Dr. John L. Kater, Jr. Endowed Scholarship Fund

John Kater

The John Kater Scholarship is awarded to one or more CDSP students, according to merit or need, at the administration’s discretion.

The Rev. Dr. John Kater, professor emeritus of ministry development, began teaching at CDSP in 1990 and is still active in its low-residency program. He founded and directed the Center of Anglican Learning and Leadership (CALL) for ten years. Kater also coordinated a program that gave Episcopal seminarians the opportunity to study in Panama, and helped shape CDSP’s relationship with Ming Hua seminary in Hong Kong, where he frequently taught.

The scholarship was established in 2016 with a gift from Lillian Woo, a public policy specialist who met Kater in a Chinese class when both were students at Columbia University.  To contribute, donate online or send a check made out to CDSP with “Kater Fund” in the memo field to 2450 Le Conte Ave, Berkeley CA, 94709.

Fran Toy Endowed Prize for Multicultural Ministry at a Field Education Site

The Rev. Dr. Fran Toy

The Fran Toy Prize is awarded to a CDSP student who has demonstrated a special interest in, and talent for, multicultural ministry.

In 1985, the Rev. Dr. Fran Toy (MDiv ’84, DD ’96) was the first Asian American woman ordained a priest in the Episcopal Church. Her passion for multicultural ministry was evident as she served the seminary as director of alumni/ae and student affairs. The Fran Toy Prize was established by the Alumni Council in 1996 to honor her upon her retirement from CDSP.

Kellor Smith Endowed Scholarship Fund for Youth Ministry

Kellor Smith

The Kellor Smith Scholarship for Youth Ministry is awarded to a CDSP student who has demonstrated a special interest in, and talent for, youth ministry.

Kellor Smith is Youth and Family Minister at St. John’s Episcopal Church in Oakland, California. The scholarship fund was created in honor of her dedication to youth ministry and her decades of service to youth.

Endowed Faculty Chair Funds

CDSP pays faculty in part from funds designated for particular academic disciplines. All of these chairs require additional funding to ensure their sustainability. Your gift to our Endowed Faculty Chair Funds is a great way to support scholarship and teaching in the area(s) of ministry about which you are passionate.

  • Alvord Church Music Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Garrett History Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Albert and Betty Gegenheimer Homiletics Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Haynes and Hodges Christian Liturgy Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Harrell Christian Education Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Jenkins Ministry Development Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Johnson New Testament Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Nancy & Michael Kaehr Liturgical Leadership & Dean of the Chapel Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Shunji Nishi Systematic Theology Endowed Faculty Chair
  • St. Margaret’s Women in Ministry Endowed Faculty Chair
  • Old Testament Endowed Faculty Chair

Please select the chair you wish to help fund from the dropdown list in the donate form.