Annual Fund

April 22, 2019

Dear Friends,

As you likely know by now, CDSP announced an historic new agreement with Trinity Church Wall Street on March 4 in All Saints Chapel. Our relationship with Trinity will assure that CDSP remains at the forefront of theological education in the Episcopal Church and the larger Christian community for years to come, doing everything we’ve always done, only better, and with greater reach.

Three people preparing communion at altar.
photo: Tom Minczeski

One of the strengths that CDSP brings to this new relationship is the good will of you and other friends and members of our alumni/ae. Your support sustained us as CDSP developed a unique profile among Episcopal seminaries by forming spiritually-grounded, rigorously trained leaders ready to face the challenges confronting the church. Today I am asking you to continue that support by making a contribution to the annual appeal.

Trinity is an institution with great resources, but the CDSP alum community will continue to play an essential role in the seminary’s future. Your gifts to CDSP will remain here on Holy Hill, allowing us to give more generous financial aid packages to our students and to build endowments for new faculty chairs. Our seminary is stronger than it has been in many years, and we are better positioned than ever to ensure that your gifts have a direct impact on the lives of the students, faculty and staff members in our community. We need you as the stakeholders in our future.

The future of our church will always need your support, and in this era of increasingly rapid and often disconcerting change, God’s church especially needs the kind of leaders we are forming here at CDSP. Your generosity has helped to keep us on our feet. Now we are asking for your continued support as we walk confidently into this new relationship.

As you celebrate what I hope is a joyous Eastertide, I ask you to consider a generous contribution to CDSP as we begin this new phase of our life together.


The Very Rev. W. Mark Richardson
President and Dean