

# **Endowed Scholarships**

### Bishop Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows Endowed Scholarship Fund A scholarship honoring a bishop alum to benefit the education of Black and Native American students.

Bishop Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows (MDiv 1997) of the Diocese of Indianapolis is the first black woman to be elected diocesan bishop in the Episcopal Church. She was CDSP's director of alumni/ae and church relations from 2002-2004 before serving in the Dioceses of Newark, Central New York, and Chicago. Presiding Bishop Michael Curry and the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings made lead gifts.

#### Winifred B. Gaines Endowed Scholarship Fund

A scholarship honoring the life and ministry of the Rev. Canon Winifred B. Gaines, to benefit an ordination-track student from the Diocese of Northern California who demonstrates financial need.

The Rev. Canon Winnie Gaines graduated from CDSP in 1978 and became the first woman to be ordained to the priesthood in the Diocese of Northern California. Her husband, Bob Gaines, established this fund with a \$100,000 gift.

## The Rev. Dr. John L. Kater, Jr. Endowed Scholarship Fund A scholarship honoring the life work of a long-time CDSP faculty member, to benefit deserving students by providing funds to reduce educational costs.

The Rev. Dr. John Kater Jr., professor emeritus of ministry development, began teaching at CDSP in 1990. He founded and directed for ten years the Center of Anglican Learning and Leadership (CALL). Kater also coordinated a program that gave Episcopal seminarians the opportunity to study in Panama and helped shape CDSP's relationship with Ming Hua seminary in Hong Kong, where he frequently taught. The scholarship was established in 2016 with a gift from Lillian Woo, a public policy specialist who met Kater in a Chinese class when both were students at Columbia University.



## **Endowed Faculty Chairs**

CDSP pays faculty in part from funds designated for particular academic disciplines. All of these chairs require additional funding to make a more robust impact and contribution. Your gift to these funds is a great way to support scholarship and teaching in the area(s) of ministry about which you are passionate.

Alvord Church Music Endowed Faculty Chair
Garrett History Endowed Faculty Chair
Albert and Betty Gegenheimer Homiletics Endowed Faculty Chair
Haynes and Hodges Christian Liturgy Endowed Faculty Chair
Harrell Christian Education Endowed Faculty Chair
Jenkins Ministry Development Endowed Faculty Chair
Johnson New Testament Endowed Faculty Chair
Nancy & Michael Kaehr Liturgical Leadership
& Dean of the Chapel Endowed Faculty Chair
Shunji Nishi Systematic Theology Endowed Faculty Chair
St. Margaret's Women in Ministry Endowed Faculty Chair
Old Testament Endowed Faculty Chair

#### **Endowed Awards**

Fran Toy Endowed Prize for Multicultural Ministry at a Field Education Site A yearly commencement award honoring an alum and former CDSP staff member, given to a student who excels at multicultural work at their field education site.

In 1985, the Rev. Dr. Fran Toy (MDiv '84, DD '96) was the first Asian American woman ordained a priest in the Episcopal Church. Her passion for multicultural ministry was evident as she served the seminary as director of alumni/ae and student affairs. The Fran Toy Prize was established by the Alumni Council in 1996 to honor her upon her retirement from CDSP.

#### Kellor Smith Endowed Award for Youth Ministry

A yearly commencement award honoring an individual who has had significant impact on the development of youth ministry programming, given to a student entering their final year at seminary who has exhibited excellence in youth ministry.

Kellor Smith is Youth and Family Minister at St. John's Episcopal Church in Oakland, California. The scholarship fund was created in honor of her decades of service to youth.