Annual Student Awards Announced

Online celebration of graduates

At the May 23 Online Celebration of Graduates, the Very Rev. W. Mark Richardson, PhD, announced this year’s recipients of annual awards for graduating students. Two returning students also received awards, announced in an email the previous week.

The awards and recipients are as follows:

Courtney Tan
Courtney Tan

The Right Rev. Richard Millard Prize for Excellence in Preaching

Winner: Courtney Tan, Diocese of Los Angeles

The Right Rev. Richard Millard ’60 was the former rector of Christ Church, Alameda; former Bishop Suffragan for the Diocese of California; former alumni director for CDSP; former director of mission development for The Episcopal Church; and retired bishop of the Convocation of American Churches in Europe.

Anthony Jones
The Rev. Anthony Jones

The Fran Toy Prize for Multicultural Ministry at a Field Education Site

Winner: The Rev. Anthony Jones, Diocese of Long Island

In 1985, the Rev. Dr. Fran Toy ’84 ’96) was the first Asian American woman ordained a priest in The Episcopal Church. The Fran Toy Prize was established by the Alumni Council in 1996 to honor Fran upon her retirement from CDSP. Her passion for multicultural ministry was evident as she served the seminary as director of alumni/ae and student affairs.

Laura Rezac
Laura Rezac

The Episcopal Preaching Foundation Award

Winner: Laura Rezac, Diocese of North Carolina

The Annual Episcopal Preaching Foundation Award is bestowed upon a CDSP student who, in the estimation of the dean and faculty, has demonstrated the most improvement and aptitude in preaching. The award is sponsored annually by the Foundation.

Peter Schmitt
Peter Vazquez Schmitt

Lawrence Kristin Mikkelson Preaching Scholarship

Winner: Peter Vazquez Schmitt, Diocese of Maryland

The Lawrence Kristin Mikkelson Preaching Scholarship, established by St. John’s Episcopal Church, Aptos, California, is awarded to a CDSP student who has demonstrated outstanding promise as a preacher and a commitment to social justice and human dignity.

Will Bryant

Kellor Smith Scholarship for Youth Ministry

Winner: Will Bryant, Diocese of Western North Carolina

The Kellor Smith Scholarship for Youth Ministry honors the dedication to youth ministry and decades of service to youth by Kellor Smith, youth and family minister at St. John’s Episcopal Church, Oakland, California. The scholarship is awarded to a CDSP student who has demonstrated a special interest in, and talent for, youth ministry.