General Convention, 2012

Indianapolis Convention Center, General Convention

CDSP at the General Convention of The Episcopal Church in Indianapolis, Ind., July 3-10

CDSP booth, #315, in at the Indianapolis Convention Center on "Seminary Row" in Exhibit Halls B&C
Caitlin Curtin, Vice President for Advancement, and Dianne Smith, Director of Admissions, were joined at the booth by two CDSP students, Machelle Christiansen of San Diego, and Tyler Sampson of Chicago. The booth fefatured slide shows, conversations with faculty and with President and Dean W. Mark Richardson, daily student presentations, videos, and even “practical renewal” in the form of charging stations for convention guests’ mobile devices.
Dean Richardson was at the CDSP booth on three afternoons, July 7-9, discussing new academic and scholarship programs and his vision for CDSP. The Rev. Ann Hallisey, Dean of Students, also greeted visitors at the booth.
Dr. Dan Joslyn-Siemiatkoski, Associate Professor of Church History, returned from his sabbatical in Cuddesdon, England, to discuss the new M.A concentration in inter­religious studies and his visit to Poland to establish the first Episcopal Church in Krakow. He was at the booth July 9-10.
Some signed copies of the new book by Dr. Donn Morgan, Old Testament Professor, Manifesto for Learning, The Mission of the Church in Times of Change, also will be available at the CDSP booth.
In daily afternoon presentations July 3 - 10, Christiansen, a second-year M.Div. student from San Diego, talked about her mission of military chaplaincy, and Sampson, a second-year M.A. student from Chicago, talked about his master’s studies with the Graduate Theological Union and CDSP.
Managing the CDSP booth throughout convention was Dianne Smith, Director of Admissions, with Caitlin Curtin, Vice President for Advancement.

The CDSP reception for alumni and friends
Indiana State Museum,  July 10
Terrace View Cafe, on Canal, behind the J.W. Marriott

The CDSP hospitality suite
JW Marriott,  July 9
Presentation and Q&A about the same-sex blessing project from the Chair of the Commission on Liturgy & Music, The Rev. Dr. Ruth Meyers, CDSP Academic Dean of Academic Affairs

© 2012 Church Divinity School of the Pacific