Religious Images by African Artists, Doug Adams Gallery

Mon, Oct 29, 2012 (All day)
Tue, Oct 30, 2012 (All day)
Thu, Nov 1, 2012 (All day)
Fri, Nov 2, 2012 (All day)
Tue, Nov 6, 2012 (All day)
Thu, Nov 8, 2012 (All day)
Fri, Nov 9, 2012 (All day)
Tue, Nov 13, 2012 (All day)
Thu, Nov 15, 2012 (All day)
Fri, Nov 16, 2012 (All day)
Tue, Nov 20, 2012 (All day)
Tue, Nov 27, 2012 (All day)
Thu, Nov 29, 2012 (All day)
Fri, Nov 30, 2012 (All day)
Tue, Dec 4, 2012 (All day)
Thu, Dec 6, 2012 (All day)
Fri, Dec 7, 2012 (All day)
Tue, Dec 11, 2012 (All day)
Thu, Dec 13, 2012 (All day)
Fri, Dec 14, 2012 (All day)

Center for the Arts, Religion and Education, an Affiliate of the Graduate Theological Union, presents:
Sunday Spirit: Religious Images by African Artists from the Jean and Robert E. Steele Collection, Sept. 4 – Dec. 14, 2012 at the Doug Adams Gallery.

The collection represents an important body of work from the David C. Driskell Center for the Study of the Visual Arts of African Americans and the African Diaspora, at the University of Maryland. Dr. Robert E. Steele is former executive director of the Driskell Center.

The Doug Adams Gallery of the Bade Museum
1798 Scenic Aveue, Berkeley
Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Admission Free

This exhibition is a visual chorus of African American spiritual tradition. Situated at the nexus of religion and creativity, Sunday Spirit provides an intimate look at significant moments in African American family and community life. Etchings, lithographs, and other works on paper feature noted artists including David Driskell and Faith Ringgold. Images represent music, myth, remembrance and other facets of African American culture.

Profile on The Steeles

For the last four decades, the Steeles have developed a collection of hundreds of prints and works on paper by African American artists. Instrumental in the Steele’s collecting has been their patronage of printmaking workshops that have been established by, and focus on, African American artists, such as Bob Blackburn’s Printmaking Workshop, Inc. in New York City; Allan Edmunds’s Brandywine Workshop, Philadelphia, PA; Lou Stovall’s Workshop, Inc. and Percy Martin’s WD Graphics Studio, both in Washington, DC. In addition to workshops established by African Americans, works in the collection also represent various institutions with which African American artists have collaborated, such as Tamarind Institute, Albuquerque, NM and the Rutgers Center for Innovative Print and Paper, New Brunswick, NJ

A show of other art works from the Steele collection, which the couple describe as more overtly religious than those in the GTU exhibit, can be seen at St. Ignatius Roman Catholic Church, University of San Francisco, 650 Parker Avenue, in San Francisco. “When God Created… Biblical Images by African American Artists from the Jean and Robert E. Steele Collection and African Artists from the Collection of the Society of African Missions and the Nicholas Bridger Collection,” through Dec. 9.

In November, the annual GTU Distinguished Faculty Lecture, by the Rev. Dr. James Noel, H. Eugene Farlough Professor of African-American Religion, San Francisco Theological Seminary Chair of the GTU Certificate of Black Church/Africana Studies, will reference this exhibition in his lecture, at the PSR chapel with a reception following in the Doug Adams Gallery.

Back to Events Calendar »

© 2012 Church Divinity School of the Pacific